Dresser Re-do!

Somehow, wonderful dressers that have seen better days and need a little extra love have been falling into my lap this past year. Not literally falling into my lap. That would be really dangerous. Unless I got a huge shot of adrenaline like those mothers who lift cars off of their children or something. Really, my family has just been gifting them to me because they are moving or sick of them, yadda  yadda. Lucky me!

My brother moved out of his apartment and in with roommates and wanted to take the least amount of stuff with him that he could. This dresser was part of the jilting. It was a little sad, very warm oak colored, and had the finished ripped off in some parts from tape being placed directly on it (movers…). However, I could see major potential, and I was in love with the legs! I decided to give it a REALLY good sanding all over and paint/stain it to match our other dresser in our room. Here it is!

Image

 

ImageImage

Please excuse these gross/grainy iPhone pictures of it. Hopefully, I can get some taken and posted with the Canon soon. I also forgot to take a BEFORE picture, so I am just really stinking it up in the photographic evidence department, aren’t I!?

 

Stain: One layer of Rustoleum Ultimate Wood Stain in Wheat followed by another layer of Rustoleum Ultimate Wood Stain in Dark Walnut

Paint/trim: Behr paint in Cracked Pepper

 

After sanding off all of the finish with an orbital sander, I prepped the wood with Rustoleum Pre-Stain Wood Conditioner. Then, I stained it in a layer of the Wheat, sanded it very lightly with 240 grit sand paper, and re-did the same process with the Dark Walnut. I only left the stain on for about 3 minutes for each color to avoid it getting too dark. I used Scotch blue painters’ tape to tape off the edges of the dresser and drawers, and painted them and the knobs in Cracked Pepper (which I LOVE!). Then, I finished the whole thing with a few coats of Minwax Polyurethane Semi-Gloss spray.

 

I have a couple more furniture pieces laying around that are just begging for some paint, so you will be seeing more soon!

 

Leave a Reply

